Barcelona Declared Champions as Spanish League Stopped

Photo: @FCBfemeni
The Spanish Women’s football season has been finished due to the coronavirus crises. FC Barcelona has been declared as champions and despite not winning a game all season Espanyol will not be relegated. 
Atletico Madrid were denied a fourth consecutive title victory will also enter next seasons UEFA Women’s Champions League finishing second in the table, 9 points behind champions Barcelona. 
It’s Barcelona’s 5th Liga Iberdrola winning it in 2012,20132014, 2015 and now 2020 ending a four year gap without winning the league. 
Barcelona also become the fifth team to win the First Division without losing a match, equaling the records only held by Añorga KKE, Athletic Club Bilbao , Levante and Atletico Madrid. 
The Catalan giants end the season as the highest-scoring team netting an incredible 86 goals and also boasting the best defence as they conceded just 6 goals. 
Barca’s Jennifer Hermoso has ended up as the top goalscorer for the league for the second consecutive season netting on 20 occasions. 
There will be 18 clubs in the first division for 2020/21 as it was announced that Eibar and CD Santa Teresa have been promoted into the top flight. 
The RFEF announced that the two semi-finals and the final of this season’s Copa de la Reina will be played at the beginning of the 2020/21 season if permitted.
You May Also Like