Watford Crowned FAWNL Southern Premier Division Champions

Photo: WatfordFCWomen

It all came down to the final day of the FA Women’s National League Southern Division to decide the winners of the league. Oxford United, Watford and Ipswich Town were all in the title race but it was Watford who got their hands on the trophy and a place in the Championship play-off.

Final Day Starting XI’s

Oxford United: Rose Kite, Shelly Provan, Riva Casley, Daisy Mclachlan, Carly Johns, Naomi Cole, Lacy Liggett, Amy Goddard, Jamie Gotch, Leah Burridge, Jenna Legg 

Watford: Jacqui Goldsmid, Anne Meiwald, Annie Rossiter, Bianca Baptiste, Gemma Davison, Ellie Head, Dré Georgiou, Megan Chandler, Poppy Wilson, Alli Palisch, Sophie McLean

Ipswich Town: Sarah Quantrill, Maria Boswell, Megan Wearing, Abbie Lafayette, Summer Hughes, Kyra Robertson, Eloise King, Anna Grey, Lucy O’Brien, Sophie Peskett, Freya Godfrey

How it happened 

It was essential for Watford to get three points against Billericay Town; the rest was out of their hands. Watford were able to do just that. Three goals in the first half from Gemma Davison, Poppy Wilson and Bianca Baptiste gave them a comfortable advantage at half time. In the second half Watford were able to keep a clean sheet. Freya Godfrey scored for Ipswich which sealed them the three points over Oxford. However, Watford’s goal difference meant they were crowned champions. 

Watford’s Season 

Watford have had a rather impressive season. Recently they came out 2-1 winners against Oxford which was a vital three points for Lathrope’s side. Having only suffered three losses across the season, the Hornets have scored more league goals than any other team through an array of goal-scorers. Wales and Watford legend Helen Ward announced that this would be her last season and it couldn’t have been a better end to the season for her. 

What happens next? 

Watford will now face Nottingham Forest (the winners of the Northern Premier Division Champions) at Stadium MK on Saturday May 20th. 

You May Also Like