North and South National Leagues Details Confirmed

FA Women’s National League Logo

While we’ve all been a little bit distracted with the women’s World Cup, the FA women’s National leagues have begun taking shape.

In the nicest possible way, the rest of the National League north will be glad to see the back of Blackburn Rovers. The side concurred all before them last season, losing only one league game and finishing with a goal difference of plus ninety seven!

As well as saying goodbye to Blackburn, Bradford City, who had a torrid time last season have dropped down a league. While sadly Guiseley Vixens have folded 💔

Replacing the trio are West Bromwich Albion and Burnley, who are promoted as champions, while Loughborough Foxes move from the southern league to replace Guiseley.

Without Blackburn, this is going to be a very competitive league and there most of the teams in that league believing that if they can start the season well then they have a good chance of being in the race to be crowned champions.

Moving south there has been even more changes within then National League South. As we’ve just said, Loughborough has moved to then northern league while C&K Basildon have gone down and also become AFC Basildon.

QPR have kind of dropped out of the league all together although last season’s side will compete as Hounslow Football Club. A new look QPR will operate under the club’s charitable arm. It follows discussions between the Trust and long-serving QPR Women manager Martino Chevannes and coaches Miguel De’Souza and Tony Smith.

QPR in the Community Trust CEO, Andy Evans, said “Their dedication and passion for QPR Women has been unwavering and I can’t thank them enough for everything they have done.

“Now starts a new chapter alongside QPR in the Community Trust whereby we will provide the opportunity for girls in the local community to make the journey from community football through to women’s elite football providing a clear female football development pathway.”

Hounslow FC was originally formed back in 1885 but the club’s playing career ended in 1995, since when the club has continued in name only with a football facility and no teams.

Hounslow Sports Club Chairman, Stephen Hosmer said: “As a club we are honoured that QPR Women FC have agreed to play under the name of Hounslow FC, we are delighted that a very famous name will again be playing football at our Green Lane facility.

“Here at Hounslow FC we are committed to providing that pathway and full support for the women’s game.” Head Coach, Miguel De’Souza, said.

Kerry Bartlett and Amelia Southgate both challenge for a ball.
Keynsham's Kerry Bartlett and Portsmouth's Amelia Southgate both challenge for a ball. Photo by Photo: @MarkDavies1

Crawley Wasps and Keynsham Town we’re both promoted after strong seasons one their respective leagues. Both will know that on their day they can upset the established order.

The most interesting addition to the league are Yeovil Town. Three years ago the sides won what was then the WSL Division Two to earn promotion to the now WSL. despite some big performances the club struggled to compete with sides which possessed vastly higher resources.

Hannah Short marshalling her Yeovil Town side. Photo from @girltinyshooter
Photo by @girltinyshooter

In March 2019, they reportedly entered administration. They were deducted 10 points during the 2018–19 season, finishing 15 points adrift and getting relegated. However, in May 2019, they were denied an operating licence for the Championship and would have to contest the following season as a third tier club instead. In June 2019, owner Steve Allinson announced his intention to relinquish ownership of the team free of charge in order to find investors capable of sustaining the team.

You May Also Like